Saturday, April 25, 2009

As for the Dutch, Ajax may have conquered Europe, but the championship was won by their archrivals Feyenoord. As far as Dutch championship was concerned, no major change – the league was not particularly strong and the top clubs were the same as ever. Feyenoord did not change much their squad – only the Swedish star Kindvall was gone. The club differed from Ajax in policy: they preferred to buy well established players. Ajax preferred to develop their own – either coming through the club’s youth system, or buying young unknown talent from smaller clubs.
Amsterdam ruled Europe, but in Holland Rotterdam was king in 1971:
top, left to right: Eddy Treijtel, Dick Schneider, Jan Boskamp, Henk Wery, Theo Lazeroms, Bram Geilman
middle: Henk van Leeuwen, Willem van Hanegem, Lex Schoenmaker, Rinus Bosglieter, Hans Posthumus, Joop van Daele, Theo van Duivenbode, Rinus Israel, Gerard Meijer – masseur
bottom: Rene van Eck – assistant coach, Wim Rijsbergen, Wim Jansen, Matthias Maiwald, Coen Moulijn, Franz Hasil (Austria), Piet Romeijn, Ernst Happel (Austria) – coach.Note the spectacles Joop van Daele is wearing. Rarely already, but there were still footballers playing with glasses. Van Daele was a national player as well, and not the only one with glasses in Feyenoord.