Saturday, August 6, 2011

Forming the North Second Bundesliga was different. It was to be made from three regional leagues, but there more complications. Football in the Northern half of West Germany was weaker bot as a game and financially. One regional league was altogether specific: the West Berlin’s one. Its existence was due to a combination of political and geographical reasons. Since West Berlin was to be a show case in the face of the surrounding Communists, Berlin football was to play part as well – hence, West Berlin was to be presented in the Bundesliga no matter what (leading to enlargement of the Bundesliga itself back in the 1960, just to include Berlin’s club when Hertha faced relegation) and city football was elevated to second level German football as a whole. The other reason for separate West Berlin Regional League was more mundane and practical: travel from and to West Berlin was difficult and expensive. It was more effective to keep West Berlin football in the the surrounded by foreign country city. Unfortunately, West Berlin clubs were not strong at all.
At the end, the North Second Bundesliga was formed by clubs reflecting the strength of the each Regionliga: 12 clubs from West Regionliga; 7 from the North Regionliga; 1 from West Berlin Regionliga, and the two freshly relegated teams from Bundesliga. No aggragate table here.
The season was played and produced the first ever final table: 1. Hannover 96, 2. Bayer Uerdingen, 3. St. Pauli, 4. Arminia Bielefeld, 5. Fortuna Koln, 6. Borussia Dortmund, 7. SG Wattenscheid 09, 8. VfL Osnabruck, 9. Preussen Munster, 10. SC Gottingen 05, 11. 1. FC Mulheim, 12. Schwartz-Weiss Essen, 13. Wacker 04 West Berlin, 14. DJK Gutersloh, 15. Alemannia Aachen, 16. SpVgg Erkenschwick, 17. Olympia Wilhelmshaven, 18. Rot Weiss Oberhausen, 19. VfL Wolfsburg, 20. HSV Barmbeck-Uhlenhorst.
The first champions – Hannover 96, the eternal movers between 1st and 2nd Division. Down to Second in 1974, up to First Bundesliga in 1975.